Connect with us


National Assembly Speaker has banned seven lawmakers for disorderly behavior



Assembly Speaker has banned seven lawmakers for disorderly behavior

Karachi: The National Assembly (NA) barred eight MNAs on Wednesday for breaking rules and disrupting proceedings on June 14 and 15.

NA Speaker Asad Qaiser has banned Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Faheem Khan, Abdul Majeed Khan, and Ali Nawaz Awan, as well as Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Ali Gohar Khan, Chaudhary Hamid Hameed, and Sheikh Rohale Asghar.

Syed Agha Rafiullah of the Pakistan Peoples Party was also barred from entering the country till further notice, according to the NA speaker.

The conduct of these MNAs during Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif’s address was excessively disruptive, according to an order issued by the NA. “They breached the rules and, despite the chair’s repeated directions, disrupted House proceedings,” the order continued.

Earlier, Qaiser met with Prime Minister Imran Khan and briefed him of the squabble in the National Assembly on Tuesday.

The moment Sharif began his budget statement on Tuesday, treasury members turned to sloganeering. When opposition and treasury members scuffled and flung budget documents and books at each other, the floor became a battleground.

Maleeka Bokhari, Parliamentary Secretary for Law, received first aid at the Parliament House dispensary after being struck in the eye by an item.