The company advises users to “only share photos or video with view once media enabled to trusted persons” because the media can still be screenshotted or screen recorded before it disappears.
Today, WhatsApp is introducing a new feature that will allow users to send films and photographs that will be immediately erased after they have been seen once.
The ‘View Once’ function is only accessible on the most recent version of WhatsApp and can be activated by tapping an icon in the text bar before sending the message.
Users are also advised to “only share photographs or movies with view once media enabled to trusted individuals,” as it is still possible to capture a screenshot or screen recording of the media before it vanishes.
Following the introduction of statuses in 2017, some have seen the move as another another feature borrowed from Snapchat by WhatsApp.
It also comes after Facebook introduced a similar tool dubbed Vanish Mode to Messenger and Instagram last year.
“While shooting images or videos on our phones has become such an important aspect of our lives,” the business wrote, “not everything we share needs to become a permanent digital record.”
“On many phones, simply capturing a photo means that it will take up space on your camera roll indefinitely.”
Do you have something to say to the story? Please share it in the comments section below.